Welcome to the Fuk-u-dome, bitch

Every year, as much as I hate to admit it, there seems to be one Cubs player that I can’t help but like. Growing up, it was Mark Grace.

I was dating the Cubsfan in 2003, the year Chicago was derailed in their run at the pennant, either by Steve Bartman or their own ineptitude. With the Brewers in the cellar, I agreed October baseball on the shores of Lake Michigan was thrilling to watch on television. Mark Prior and Kerry Wood were pitching the lights out, and being lathered with attention by Cubs boosters.

“I don’t know. I kind of like this Zambrano kid,” I said. This, of course, was met with ridicule.


Zambrano went on to become their ace (and an overpaid liability), Wood debuted Monday (poorly) as their new closer after years of injuries and Prior… Mark Prior seems to have vanished off the face of the earth.

For the last two years, it was Jacque Jones. In a small sample size which consisted of me watching two Cardinals-Cubs games at the start of each the 2006 and 2007 seasons, it seemed he was the only guy hustling out there. But the Cubs fans, typically, under-valued him and start to turn on him. Now he’s gone.

This year, it seems it will be Kosuke Fukudome. The sky-is-falling Brewers fans took his three-run home run off Seth Rogen Éric Serge Gagné as a sign of Gagné sucking and not Fukudome kicking ass.

I could see the Cubs losing 90 games despite Fukudome batting .400. For one day, until he faces Soup later today, he’s batting 1.000. The only downside — aside from him playing for the Cubs — is that they don’t come to Milwaukee until July 28-30.

We’ll have to wait until then to debut our “Go-suke it, Cubs!” and “Welcome to the Fuk-u-dome, bitch” signs.

3 responses to “Welcome to the Fuk-u-dome, bitch

  1. Mark Prior vanished to San Diego. There he is still useless because he’s recovering for his plethora of injuries. San Diego seems to be a black hole for pitchers who were once aces. Greg Maddux? No more Cy Youngs. That guy was my hero growing up because he was nerdy but he could still throw the heat. But now, I don’t know what to think. I’m just lost. The closest thing I have is Mike Maddux for the Cerveceros, for now, however, that’ll do just fine.

  2. Pingback: Pilgrims in an unholy land « Viva Cerveceros

  3. Pingback: I hate the Cubs « Viva Cerveceros

Leave a Reply

