Act 2, Scene 1

As the second half of the season heats up, let’s take a trip in our Way Back Machine and go all the way back to five months ago. This little trip down memory lane is brought to you by a heavy “Wedding Crashers”-quoting pandemic sweeping through Miller Parkland and the Brewers road winning streak.

Where will it all end? We don’t know. But I’d like to remind Ned and the boys of Rule #76: No excuses. Play like a champion.

In February, I e-mailed my friend Dan at his work address.

Please contact me about an important scheduling matter at your earliest convenience.

He called me back…

Dan: John? I need to speak to you right away. It’s important.

Me: What’s going on?

Dan: We got some big months ahead of us… It’s baseball season, kid!

Me: You sandbaggin’ son of a bitch!

Dan: I’ve got us down for 17 of them already.

Me: Grab that net and catch that beautiful butterfly, pal! What do you like better, Christmas or baseball season? Mr. Nowak?

Dan: Yes. The answer would be, um, baseball season?
[shimmy-shakes]

I was also able to come up with these gems (“I’m ready to get drunk” is too easy).

“I’m just warming up. Last week I did an exact replica, to scale, of Miller Park. Honest to God. I don’t have anywhere to put it.”

“We’ve been to a million Brewers games, and guess what? We’ve rocked them all.”

One response to “Act 2, Scene 1

  1. A couple more good ones:

    The other day I crashed a funeral…..for the Cubs season. There was Miller Lite and billy goats.

    Rule #22: We have 162 games to seal the deal. Period. No overtime.

Leave a Reply

