Happy Days are here again

The Brewers are back in town and so is the cast of “Happy Days.” Yep, I just got back from reporting on the unveiling of the “Bronz Fonz,” a statue on the Riverwalk in Milwaukee to honor Arthur Herbert Fonzarelli, or Henry Winkler, or something. The cast is going to the game tonight (I understand Potsie is singing the national anthem).

I was interviewing a couple who were driving “Laverne & Shirley” (Penny Marshall and Cindy Williams) around in their white and salmon 1957 Ford Fairlane convertible.

I asked Marshall, who also directed “A League of Their Own” and is a big baseball and basketball fan, how she liked the ride and she said it was terrific.

“So, are you staying for the game then?” I asked.

“Yeah, if it doesn’t rain later,” she said, pointing to the grey sky.

“Oh, we have a roof!”

“We do?” she asked, surprised.

“Yes, it…” I made the shell shape of Miller Park with my hands. “… retracts!”

“Oh, I don’t know, I’ve never been to this stadium.”

The couple weren’t sure they would stay until the end of the game — they woke up at 4 a.m. to drive into town and pick up the stars at the Pfister Hotel. I think they might get to see the end; Big Ben Sheets is on the hill tonight, and he works fast. This is his first game since the tough loss in San Diego, and I promise I’ll go into more detail about that soon.

2 responses to “Happy Days are here again

  1. Wow that is an awful looking statue – is that the best they could do?

  2. Pingback: Now that’s a statue! « Viva Cerveceros

Leave a Reply

