Can’t Knock the Hustle

This morning, the perfect song to describe where we now find ourselves bounced into my head. Not surprisingly, it was Jay-Z, baby. jay-z

I’m makin’ short term goals, when the weather folds
Just put away the leathers and put ice on the gold
Chilly with enough bail money to free a big Willy
High stakes, I got more at stake than Philly

Let’s take a look at that:

  1. The Brewers need to make “short term goals, when the weather folds,” i.e. in September, going 1-0 on the day and not worrying about tomorrow until the day after today.
  2. Instead of putting “ice on the gold,” Brewers fans are more likely to “put the gold on ice.” Goldschläger, that is. Swiss cinnamon schnapps. Try saying that three times fast. Better yet, take three shots and try saying that at all.
  3. Thanks to Mark Attanasio and increased ticket and apparel sales, the Brewers have a “enough bail money to free a big Willy” — or at least to sign a free agent.
  4. “High stakes, I got more at stake than Philly.” Fuck yes, you have more at stake than Philly. They’ve been to the playoffs — you haven’t. Their team went last year, yours hasn’t in 26 years. We’re talking about a lifetime here. We’re talking about my lifetime.

Although I want all of Brewers Nation bouncing to this track and drawing inspiration from it, it’s worth noting that it does appear on the album “Reasonable Doubt.”

The Other J.J. is headed to the Bankpark tonight and tomorrow to see if the Crew can get out of Philly with a split. That would be super. He also just mentioned Nas is playing Temple’s homecoming.

Hell yeah, North Philly

2 responses to “Can’t Knock the Hustle

  1. Remember that time on my 21st birthday when I took 7 shots of Goldschlager in a row? That was pretty awesome. I don’t remember if I threw up right after it, but I definitely woke up with puke in my bed and almost died like a rock star.

    I’ll be there tonight, sporting my Braun jersey (I think…might switch to Fielder after yesterday) in 427 at CBP (“The Vault”). I’ll feel a lot more comfortable doing it if we can get the afternoon game against RHP Joe Blanton, who is, as Sir Charles would say, turrible.

  2. I’m sitting here recovering from the first game of the double header.

    We need a miracle. Every day.

Leave a Reply

