“So pop a bottle…”

Last night we had a wine tasting at Maxie’s with Gary Eberle of the Eberle Winery in Paso Robles, Calif. We had some very tasty food paired with Syrah, Syrah Rosé, Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon and Zinfandel. The Muscat Canelli was actually paired with and included in an oyster shooter. It was a very nice evening, and the guest of honor entertained everyone by sharing little stories (he played football at Penn State and a coworker said he recently had dinner with Joe Paterno) and autographing botttles “Hugs & Kisses, Gary Eberle, Professional Alcoholic.”

I was frantically polishing wine glasses and the crowd was thinning out when my coworker Shell came up to me.

“You have to try the chardonnay — now.”

It took my a while to like chardonnay because I encountered some with so much oak, I might as well drink bourbon instead. But this was very tasty, very big and very fruity.

“They say this is a house pour at the Playboy Mansion,” Shell said.

I took another sip.

“They say this is what the Brewers request when they’re flying out of town.”

eberle_logo

Very nice. And now, completely out of context and with nothing more to do with baseball here are some fun chardonnay quotes from movies. From “American Psycho:”

“I don’t want to get you drunk, but, ah, that’s a very fine Chardonnay you’re not drinking.”

And “Sideways:

Miles: “I like all varietals. I just don’t generally like the way they manipulate chardonnay in California. Too much oak and secondary malolactic fermentation.”

Jack: “Huh.”

______

Miles: “Mmm. Quaffable. But, uh, far from transcendent.”
Jack: “I like it. Tastes great.”

Leave a Reply

