Uecker, FTW

So yeah, at the first game of what is now a three-game sweep of the Cleveland Indians by the Milwaukee Brewers, Bob Uecker got to throw out the first pitch of game one to honor the 20th anniversary of his portrayal of Harry Doyle, the Indians announcer in the movie “Major League.” 

But to me, a greater tribute to Uecker is that someone finally posted some of his old Admirals commercials on YouTube.

My new hero is  choles12 for posting these. Every time I heard Jeremy Piven yell “Lloyd!!” in Entourage, it reminds me of Lloyd Petit, and the commercials he and his wife Jane made with Uecker while they owned the Admirals. 

There is one more I remember from my childhood, in which Uecker drives the Zamboni. 

Which, of course, reminds me of the Gear Daddies song “I Wanna Drive the Zamboni” from the Mighty Ducks 2 soundtrack, which I owned.

Leave a Reply

