Farewell, Felipe

Viva Cerveceros never bid proper “adios” to Felipe Lopez, who was just fine for the Brewers last year in place of the injured Rickie Weeks.

Now he’s back with the Cardinals, and he was all over the place at Miller Park last week. When the Brewers got Lopez, the switch-hitting second baseman who ultimately hit .310 for them, I was relatively pleased. I remember my late Grandpa asking me very abruptly what I thought of the move, and him saying “Yeah, I’m glad they have him.”

I’m glad they had him, too. Without sounding too Costas-y here, Lopez just seems like a baseball player. And he proved it tonight, by pitching a scoreless 18th inning in a wild, low-scoring instant classic-type game in which the Cardinals lost to the Mets in 20 innings. Check it out on MLB.com. He’s a gamer, eh, folks?

His wife’s name is apparently Jennifer, which means he has his very own J. Lo. Whether that’s a spiral hemp necklace, or a performance inspiring Phiten necklace, I dig his overall style.

I wish him luck with his new team. Just as long as the Cardinals lose as much as possible to the Brewers, and let the Crew stay in the NL Central race by not running away with it. In that case, yes, have fun with it.

One response to “Farewell, Felipe

  1. Pingback: From beatdown to down beat « Viva Cerveceros

Leave a Reply

